What You Can Do

We need your help.  While we have made tremendous progress with our opposition to this wind project, we CANNOT do it alone.  There are some issues that are just too important where you can not just stand by and do nothing.  This is one of those issues.  Together, as a community, we can stop this project.

Sign the Petition

TLOW will utilize this petition to illustrate to our county and ISD leaderships that the opposition to wind turbines from residents and landowners in Brown and Coleman Counties is very visible and active.



Know What Neighboring Landowners Are Doing

“All of your neighbors have signed up so you might as well or else you will miss out on the income but still have to look at turbines.”  This is a common pitch that landowners report hearing from wind turbine salesmen.  This scare tactic is only successful when landowners do not know what their neighbors’ positions are on this wind project.  In Brown and Coleman county we have an overwhelming majority of landowners who do not want wind turbines and have stated they will not sign up.  We have talked to most of them.  If you have questions on what is going on around you, you can contact us and we will likely know or can help you find out.  




Contact Your County Officials

Under Texas Chapter 312 of the property tax code, County Commissioners can evaluate wind tax abatements out of the public eye.  Not until 72 hours prior to their final vote must they notify the public of what is about to occur.  These are our elected officials who should represent the wishes of their constituents.  So every resident must let their commissioner know how they feel about wind turbines in our counties.  Without these tax abatements, nearly all wind projects do not proceed.   So all concerned residents must let their commissioners know how they feel about wind turbines in our counties.

County Judges


Brown County Judge
Judge Paul Lilly
200 South Broadway Street, Room 111
Brownwood, TX 76801
Ph: 325-643-1985
Fax: 325-643-1356
paul.lilly@browncountytx.org

Coleman County Judge
Judge Billy D. Bledsoe
100 W. Liveoak St., Suite 102
Coleman, Texas 76834
PH:  325-625-4218
 county.judge@yahoo.com

Brown County Commissioners 200 South Broadway, Room 322
Brownwood, Texas 76801


Precinct 1:  Gary Worley
gary.worley@browncountytx.org
325- 643-1985
Precinct 2:  Joe Kelton
joel.kelton@browncountytx.org
254-259-3752
Precinct 3:  Wayne Shaw
wayne.shaw@browncountytx.org
325-646-8293
Precinct 4:  Larry Traweek
larry.traweek@browncountytx.org
325-752-6821

Coleman County Commissioners

100 W. Liveoak St., Suite 105

Coleman, Texas 76834

email : cclerk@web-access.net


Precinct 1:  Mark Williams
325-625-3211
Precinct 2:  Rick Beal
325-348-9103
Precinct 3:  Scotty Lawrence
325-357-4468
Precinct 4: Alan Davis
325-625-5807






Contact Your School District

Under Chapter 313 of the property tax code, a School District can provide a private company a 10-year limitation on the taxable property value for school district maintenance and operations tax (M&O) purposes. In exchange these companies are to bring jobs to our community. Unfortunately 87% of all waivers on the jobs requirement under Chapter 313 are Wind companies. However, landowners feel the impact of these turbines through less marketability of their land and devaluation of property value. Due the Chapter 41 "Robin Hood" school funding law, any financial benefit provided to a school district must be included in the calculation for funding per student and therefore may subject to recapture by state. The negatives of wind farms far outweigh the benefits for Brown and Coleman County landowners and residents.

Bangs ISD

PO Box 969
200 Hall Street
Bangs, TX 76823
(325) 752-6612

Tony Truelove - Superintendent of Schools
tony.truelove@bangsisd.net

Board of Trustees:

Eric Lykins - President

Jerry Roberts - Vice President

Lyndyl Tidwell - Secretary

Dennis Sanchez

Justin Duncan

Larry Drury

Steven Fuqua







Brookesmith ISD

PO Box 70613400 FM 586 S
Brookesmith, TX 76827
(325) 643-3023


Steven Mickelson - Superintendent of Schools


Board of Education:

Terry Been - President

Wendy Harris - Vice President

Rebecca Seamans - Secretary

Scott Burns - Board Member

Rusty Rice - Board Member

Tony Nelson - Board Member







Santa Anna ISD

701 Bowie Street
Santa Anna, Texas 76878
(325) 348-3136


David Robinett - Superintendent of Schools
david.robinett@santaannaisd.net

Board of Education:
Janice Fellers - President
janice.fellers@santaannaisd.net
Mike Pritchard, Vice President
mike.pritchard@santaannaisd.net
Denise Montgomery, Secretary
denise.montgomery@santaannaisd.net
Glen Donham
glen.donham@santaannaisd.net
Roger Guerrero, Jr.
roger.guerrero@santaannaisd.net
Laurel Guthrie
laurel.guthrie@santaannaisd.net
David Herrod
david.herrod@santaannaisd.net


Be Vocal

Talk about this wind project as much and with as many people as possible.  This issue affects everyone in our counties from the landowner, to the homeowner, to every business owner.  The impact will be felt for more than 60 years. Share this website, our Facebook page or direct anyone interested to contact us for more information.


Volunteer to Help

We need volunteer help from time to time for events, mailing, research or other activities.  Contact us if you would like to help keep these wind turbines out of Brown and Coleman counties.

Want More Information?